Saving Strawberries

I have my laptop out, charger ready, book nearby, and I’m all ready for some writing/reading/me+God time. All that’s left is to warm up my coffee.

When I put it in the microwave (I know- it’s gross. Coffee snobs don’t hate.) I notice the strawberries on the counter from yesterday’s shopping trip.

And so, it begins.

Within a minute- no, 30 seconds- I’m washing the strawberries and I’ve completely forgotten why I entered the kitchen in the first place. I’m distracted by the thought of saving these strawberries, because- as everyone knows- strawberries have a way of molding when left unwashed on the counter.

Saving strawberries has kept me from some intentional quiet time. Ugh! I’m so easily distracted…

Are you like this? I call it my “Mary-Martha syndrome.” It’s a story from the New Testament when Jesus is hanging out after dinner at the home of Mary and Martha- two sisters with the same love but different methods of pursuing it. Martha gets so ticked off about washing dishes by herself while Mary literally sits on the floor next to Jesus, that she stomps in and actually tells God what to do. Pretty comical looking from the outside in.

But- I get Martha! I WANT to sit down and focus on contemplative passages of scripture and introspection, but I NEED to get things done! After all, there are strawberries molding on the counter!!

Ah, the emergencies of life.

Dirty laundry piling up…

Scrubbing that spot out of the carpet…

One more meeting…

The text from my co-worker awaiting my response…

Doing seems to be the top priority. But the truth of the matter is that all of those “emergencies” will be there no matter what I do. There will always be something else, right?

One more task to complete.

One more place to be.

One more problem to solve.

I can’t save ALL of the strawberries. So, what’s a Martha to do?

Well, Jesus’ advice is pretty solid: “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.”

Essential.

One thing.

There’s my goal: to focus on the

one

essential

thing.

Everything else is extra. So I’m letting the strawberries mold if they want to. They can wait. I’m telling myself to let the non-essential things go, because- after all- they aren’t ESSENTIAL. This is easier said than done, and I still get distracted by the one extra thing, but I’m getting better each day. So, if you come to my house and see moldy strawberries on the counter….

2 thoughts on “Saving Strawberries

  1. I laughed when I read this…I spent my quiet time this morning mopping the floor because I couldn’t stand the thought that someone might stop by and see spots on my floor! Now my floor is clean, but I missed out on something much more important. Thanks for the encouragement – I constantly struggle with my Martha-ness. 🙂

    • Ha! Story of our lives, right?? It’s crazy what we do for the mysterious “people who might stop by.” 🙂 Glad we can encourage one another!!

Leave a Reply

