How I fell in love

Aaron, my husband, left for Haiti this past Thursday, and the house is not the same without him. When I keep 4 kids for the weekend, my weekend revolves around getting laundry done, meals on the table and the kids in bed on time. When Aaron keeps the kids for a weekend, it’s a whole different ball game. If you know my husband well, then you know he is crazy, spontaneous and loves to plan and execute group activities. Aaron injects fun into his atmosphere, and his spontaneity is contagious!

Every time Aaron is out of town I remember why I fell in love with him in the first place. A long, long time ago we were both freshmen at Southwestern Assemblies of God University. Back then, the school was smaller, and most people lived within a few hours of the school. Each weekend the campus would empty, and the rest of us (most of whom were car-less) would congregate in the dorm lobbies. The first such weekend, my only new friends went home, so I hung out with a great group of guys: Aaron, Michael (Aaron’s brother), Chad (Chumpie), Jason, Chris and Raymond. I’d briefly met Aaron in New Testament class earlier in the week, and my close friend had a crush on him. He and I would take walks around the campus and he would blow my mind with discussions about the Bible and theology.

It didn’t take long for me to notice that Aaron was different than anyone I’d ever met before.
He did his own thing.
He thought deeply.
He prayed loudly, with a passion I’d never heard before.
He LOVED kids like no guy I’d ever seen.

Most Sundays you could find Aaron borrowing someone’s car to drive to the East Side of Waxahachie where poverty reigned. He would pack the car full of kids and spend the afternoon at the park with them. It wasn’t just that Aaron loved kids. They loved him, too. To this day I have never met anyone who is as loved by all kids as Aaron is.

Well, he drew me to him, too. Pretty soon I was in a predicament. Aaron and I had become good friends, and I knew he was interested in my girl friend who like him. I was the one in the middle. One afternoon, I was mulling over my decision of whether or not to tell Aaron that the girl liked him, too. I was so bothered by it, that I went to the room on my floor that was designated for prayer times. I asked God why this decision bothered me so much.

Now, let me back up a bit. If you know my history, you know that I had some pretty bad romantic experiences. When I went to college I decided I didn’t want to get serious with anyone. I didn’t want to get married, and I resented the jokes about getting an “M.R.S.” degree. I couldn’t understand why all my friends had a fascination with bridal magazines and engagement rings. I was fine on my own!

I sat in that prayer room seriously bothered by the feeling in my gut. I don’t know if it was my new faith or the “Christian college” atmosphere, but I did something next that I would never do again: I asked God if I was going to marry Aaron. I had only known Aaron three weeks at this point! I was thankful that no one else was near the prayer room to hear my stupidity.

And then I heard the answer as clear as day: Yes.

WHAT??!!

I walked out of that room confused, and I was almost convinced I was nuts. But I felt something I hadn’t felt in a long, long time: peace. I had no idea what was going on, but I knew it was much bigger than me.

I ended up telling Aaron about my friend, and their “romance” (which he says to this day never existed) lasted a whole week (nearly 6 months in Bible college time). I wrote my secret in my journal and told no one for a couple of weeks. I finally confided in my roommate just to make a joke of it.

Less than 2 years later, we were married. Of course, there is so much more to the story, but I’ve already talked your ear off. Well, how funny that almost 16 years later I work for SAGU? I walked out of the administration building the other day and couldn’t help but smile. I was looking at the places where Aaron and I had dreamed, discussed and planned- ministry, marriage, kids- and I’m standing in the middle of our dreams. Now, instead of taking a car full of kids to the park, we are taking them home to live with us. Instead of planning activities for campus groups, we’re planning activities for our family. Instead of dreaming about changing the world, we are changing the world, one little bit at a time.

I’ve realized this is the center of my love for Aaron. He won me- not with his love for me, but with his love for God and His people. I knew then and know now that Aaron does not need me to complete him. But he wants me. I might have asked for him (which, of course, he loves to tell people), but we picked each other to live this crazy adventure with, and I am so glad we did!

9 thoughts on “How I fell in love

  1. Sounds very similar to Candace and I’s story. It’s nice to look around and realize you’re living in a dream!

    • I pray my own children find the type of love we (Joe and I) and the two of you have found! Nothing in the world like being in love with someone who loves someone else more than you…..Jesus, that is. πŸ™‚

  2. So sugary sweet!!! Loved it!! Love you guys:) Are you missing four little Escamilla’s yet? The three that were with us are ADORABLE! You guys are truly blessed!!

  3. Hi Sara, This is is the only way I can think of to reach you, but I was needing your mailing address as I have a box of clothes to send to Angela from Abbi. Thank you and God Bless!!
    Nana Vaye:)

    • Thank you!! My address is 127 EVENING STAR CIRCLE, RED OAK, TX 75154

      Sara Escamilla Director of On-Campus Admissions Southwestern Assemblies of God University

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Pingback: Esca Stories: Aaron | Sara Escamilla

Leave a Reply

