Birthdays and Grad School and adoption, oh, my!

Remember when I used to write?

That was great. šŸ™‚ No, seriously, I promise to make a better effort in 2013. Perhaps I’ll write shorter items and continue with my memoirs. I also want to keep sharing our crazy awesome story of adoption and foster care. So- if you choose to keep tuning in- THANK YOU. Really- thank you. If you don’t- I understand. Life is busy!

So what have I been doing for the past 6 months? I hired a brand spankin’ new team at SAGU, and they are amazing. I learned a ton about interviewing, sifting through resumes and applications and how to choose a team that is diverse, compatible and has great chemistry.

I celebrated… or, more accurately, endured my 34th birthday. *sigh*

The Escas enjoyed a super awesome and blessed Christmas with presents overflowing from various sources. I’m simply amazed and grateful to the many people who made this first Christmas for my 3 newbies so memorable.

I start grad school today. Hooray! After much debate, I determined that if I could choose to study anything this next go-round it would have to be Bible and Theology. I firmly agree with Tozer: what I believe about God is THE most important thing about me. I certainly never considered myself to be a theologian, but if a theologian is someone who thinks about God- well, I guess I’m that! šŸ™‚

We are in the last stretch of finalizing the adoption of our three new Escas. We’re hoping for a court date within the next 30 days, but I’m committed to waiting patiently and accepting the process. After all, I can’t control it anyway!

There have been ecstatic days, exhausted days, discouraged and happy days and everything in between, but today I stand near the top of this mountain I’ve been climbing, and I can clearly see the sun coming up over the horizon. I have to pauseĀ at this precipiceĀ and say how incredibly amazed I am at what God can do when we offer Him our loyalty. I’m looking back over two years of baby steps of obedience. I couldn’t even see where I was going most of the time, but I felt his hand in mine, and I followed his lead. Now, I get the joy of seeing the beauty from the top of the mountain.

I know there will be valleys ahead and more darkness, but I could never turn back. This has been the greatest adventure, and I know it will only get better.

One thought on “Birthdays and Grad School and adoption, oh, my!

  1. Glad to have you back!! I always enjoy your life stories:) I know they are building “blogs” for whoever tunes in (me included)!! Love you dear Sara~Vaye A.

Leave a Reply

