Paleo, wha??? My favorite paleo resources

If you have been following my story for a bit, you know our family made an effort to go paleo at the beginning of the year. If you, like me a couple of years ago, have NO idea what in the heck paleo means, just click that link in the previous sentence or google it. The gist of the paleo diet is this: no grains, no sugar, no legumes, no processed food of any kind (there are some who go farther, but this is a big first step). If you want to know why I would subject myself and my family to such torture, you can read this old blog

Even though we’re not as hard core as we were in January, eating has definitely changed in our family. And, this funny thing has happened. I realized the other day that our kids don’t really get sick any more. They have seasonal allergies, the occasional headache, but I can’t even remember the last time one of them needed an antibiotic. My husband, who was having one migraine per week- and they were BAD, vomiting, miserable migraines- has maybe one per month, and no vomiting. 

SO- I’ve been asked lots of questions about what I eat, what my favorite resources are, etc., and I thought I’d dedicate this blog to sharing my favorite paleo stuff. If you’re not much of a meat person, but you’re trying to eliminate grains, this stuff is still helpful.  Feel free to ask questions or, if you’re a paleo fan, share your advice or favorite resources in the comments section. 

Grocery list. (Remember, I have 9 people in my household, and some of them eat like 2 adults.)

Our “regular” items are chopped kale, spinach, LOTS of carrots, cherry tomatoes, sweet potatoes, cucumbers, avocados, tuna, salmon, berries, apples (3-5 pounds/week, people), bananas, chicken, almond butter, raisins, almonds, pistachios, local honey, pure maple syrup, LOTS of eggs, bacon and sausage. We have salad first at dinner time every night, and I still let the kids have rice-based cereals and almond milk sometimes. 

 

Favorite websites.

Paleo Diet Lifestyle

Whole 9, creators of the Whole 30 

Paleomg, BEST recipes for treats, EVER

One of my FAVORITE go-to recipe books for family meals and treats is Eat Like a Dinosaur. Best paleo chocolate chip cookies EVER! (and all of paleo is gluten-free, so that’s a big win for my 6-year-old)

 

Resources.

The Whole 30 shopping list

The Whole 30 meal-planning template – Oh my gosh, this helped me so much. It helped me see that I was not eating nearly enough at meals, and when I get to eat more I’m a happy girl!

Wheat Belly – If you don’t really get why grains are a problem, you need to check out this book and blog. I promise- I’m not a conspiracy theorist. I just trust research and what works for my body. 

 

Products.

Brianna’s Salad Dressing – this is literally the ONLY dressing on the shelves we could find with no sugar that was super yummy. We buy it in bulk.

Ocean Spray Sparkling Cranberry drinks – these are juice and sparkling water. That’s it. No added sugar, and they’re yummy! Nice alternative when you have eliminated soda, sweet tea and lemonade from your diet. 

Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

I hope if you are dealing with health issues that physicians cannot solve or you’re just exhausted, overweight or dealing with chronic pain, you can find some hope in all of this. I feel the best I’ve felt in years, and I am in control of my health and wellness. It’s worth the discipline!

2 thoughts on “Paleo, wha??? My favorite paleo resources

  1. I’ve been wanting to explore this option. I only want grains. All the time. It’s bad some days. Excited to look into this w the resources you gave – thanks friend!

    Also, took our first foster care class recently. Working on paperwork and are starting the process. I’ll probably keep in touch over the next several months w a bazillion questions.

    Miss you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Aaahhhhh!!! So super excited for you- on both fronts! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it. Love you! Thanks for reading!

      P.s. That paleodietlifestyle site is amazing. Lots of research. I could read on there for hours…

Leave a Reply

